Homemade baby fruit bars

True to my word I attempted to make baby friendly fruit bars. I say attempted, but I actually did indeed make them. In hindsight (who doesn’t love the wisdom of hindsight?) I should have done a few things differently (like read the recipe properly), but they turned out pretty good anyway. I’ll write it all down for you, but I should give credit where credit is due for this brilliant thing, so thanks to Lou over at Fridge Scrapings for the recipe! This fine lady also has a lot of other excellent recipes for things to make for little people.

Also, before I get started, please forgive me for not taking the photography very serious for this. Cooking and taking pretty pictures of it just isn’t my thing.

Alright, first thing’s first, your ingredients read like this:

3/4 cup + 1 tbs rolled oats (not sure what’s with the +1, I just did an approximate 3/4+ cup)

1 tsp  cinnamon

3 tbs Apple puree

4-5 tbs dried fruit (chopped or pulsed in a food processor. I used apricots, apple and raisins, but you can use whatever your heart desires. Even coconut.)

milk to glaze (regular, soy, almond, whatever you want/need)

And here’s what you do: 

First make your apple puree. You know the drill, peel, core and dice your apple, put it in a bit of boiling water until soft and then puree it. (Here’s where I made my first mistake. I didn’t puree my apple and measure it out, I just put the whole thing in with my oats. Don’t do that.)

Apple, oats and cinnamon. Puree your apple first!

Apple, oats and cinnamon. Puree your apple first!

While the apple is doing its thing, measure out your oats, pop them in a blender and whiz until it gets a meal texture.  Add your apple puree and your cinnamon and pulse until it forms a wet ball. (This is better achieved in a food processor rather than with the stick mixer I used.) Let the dough rest in the fridge for at least an hour. This gives it time to soak up some moisture and become a friendlier work mate. (And don’t cover it with cling wrap like I did. Water droplets formed underneath it and probably didn’t help the ‘getting rid of moisture’ bit.)

Dough. Yours should not be as wet as mine was if you pureed your apple and measured it out.

Dough. Yours should not be as wet as mine was if you pureed your apple and measured it out first.

Once everyone’s had a good time out, get your dough and squeeze it. If it seems dry, don’t worry. (Mine was quite the opposite, but I now know that this was due to having far too much apple in it, plus the whole cling wrap thing. So don’t do any of those things and you’ll be fine.) You want your dough to be not too wet and not too dry. I probably should have whizzed up some more oats for my sloppy dough, but since I couldn’t be arsed I just used some corn flake crumb which worked a charm. (I know, this did add a tiny bit of sugar, but I’ll do better next time.) Divide it all into 4 balls. Roll out between baking paper. (Just use the baking paper, ok? If this dough gets wet at all, you’re in for hell on a rolling pin. Don’t go there.) Flip it between the baking paper with every roll and maybe sprinkle some oats or flour to keep it from sticking. I used my corn flake crumb.  Cut it into bar shapes.

Personally I don't eat depressed (dried) fruit, but Anakin loves it so in it goes!

Personally I don’t eat depressed (dried) fruit, but Anakin loves it so in it goes

Next, get your fruit and put some in the middle of your bar. I chopped mine, but next time I will pulse them in a food processor to get a sticker fruit mash to work with. Fold over and pinch your bar shut. If it cracks, don’t worry. Mine cracked a lot, but once you glaze them with milk that will take care of that.

My bars were of all sizes. The little pattie is just leftover dough.

My bars were of all sizes. The little pattie is just leftover dough

After you’ve glazed your bars, whack them in the oven at 200 C for about 8-10 minutes, turning half way to make sure they bake evenly. Cool on a rack and store in an airtight container in the fridge.

And done! Ok, so I can definitely work a bit on the aesthetics, but not bad for a first go.

And done! Ok, so I can definitely work a bit on making them look a bit prettier, but not bad for a first go. I ended up chopping some of them in half because they were big fatties.

Keep in mind that these are made for babies so they won’t rock your flavour world. Sure they taste ok, but with no sugar, butter or any of the crap we’re used to as adults they’re pure flavour seems a bit bland. But my kid loves them and now I know exactly what he’s eating!

8 responses

  1. I am definitely going to try your recipe! Thank you for sharing 🙂

    February 1, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    • you’re welcome! I’ll put some more up when I have the time to write them down. 🙂

      February 2, 2013 at 10:09 am

  2. Lou

    Hooray! Glad you liked them – rmy little one really digs these too 🙂 Oh I LOVE your blog…. the name is priceless – my husband is most impressed as he is a mega Star Wars fan…. he still has his whole collection of figurines from the 1980s (some still unopened in boxes, ha) Can’t wait to read through your site 🙂

    February 5, 2013 at 11:13 am

    • Thank you! 🙂 I was going to post your recipe for nuggets too and then your site woludn’t open when I made mine so I just made them up, and now that I’ve checked yours again, they’re pretty much the same. 🙂 I’ll have to add you as inspiration for mine!

      February 5, 2013 at 11:26 am

  3. erindove81

    Thanks! I can’t buy these types of foods for bub. If there is more than ten ingredients I figure it’s no good.

    Was the outside if these hard at the end? I’m just wondering if I put the fruit in the dough mix? And maybe add some chia seeds? And I’m thinking half oats half quinoa flakes?

    Hmm ill have to give it a go. Looks yummy

    April 16, 2013 at 11:54 am

    • They don’t go hard as in crunchy, but definitely chewy. Putting the fruit in the dough mix could work, but I haven’t tried it. I’d be curious to hear how you go with your suggestions! I think adding chia seeds and quinoa sounds very interesting and tasty. My kid loved these. I really should make some more for him. I’d probably do better than I did the first time!

      April 16, 2013 at 2:31 pm

  4. Alice

    Making these right now 🙂

    June 21, 2014 at 8:49 am

    • I hope they turned out good! 🙂

      June 27, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Leave a Reply

