Mama, forgive yourself

I think some part of me thought number two would be easier. I’d done it all before, right?

_DSC0158_web_bw

She was born into expectations of how certain things would be. Her birth would be calm and serene. She would sleep better and longer, she would be easier to settle, she would like to be worn, she would… But she is her own person. She’s not a shadow of who came before.

He would go through the motions for a few weeks and then settle and we would all be one big, happy family. His anger and his hurt would vanish and he would always know that my love for him remained the same.

I would manage to keep the house tidier and cleaner and tend to every need for both of my children. I would make sure I had plenty of time for my son, I would play with him every day. I would always keep my daughter close and we would remain as one. I would excel at juggling, I would let go and ask for help when I needed it. I would stay level and take care of myself. I would bounce back to my pre-pregancy shape (despite never doing so the first time), my stomach would be flat within a week like I’d seen other people’s do and I would feel magnificent about my post-baby body right away. Breastfeeding would be a breeze, after all I’d spent 2,5 years doing it already. I wouldn’t stress about anything, I would go with the flow at all times and I would get work done. I would always keep my cool and I would be even more patient than before. I would understand and empathise at all times.

But I am constantly failing to meet the ridiculous standards I’ve set myself.

It’s not the same, it’s not easier.

And some days I am not the mama I want to be for my children.

But what I am slowly learning this time around is;

Mama, forgive yourself.

Forgive yourself for expecting too much, forgive yourself for putting too much pressure on your body. Your body is beautiful because it is uniquely yours.  It was their first home. It grew, carried and birthed two of the most beautiful little people. It is softer, rounder and fuller. Forgive yourself for sometimes forgetting the look they both get when they see you naked, their eyes lighting up at the sight of you because to them you are perfection.

Forgive yourself for momentarily buying into ridiculous nonsense about baby sleep. Your children are healthy and need nothing but your love. You are following your instincts and you are doing everything right. Forgive yourself for not always having as much time as you want for both of them. One is still so little and her needs so big. You will get better at dividing your time. Forgive yourself for not being an expert, a mothering perfectionist. No one expects or wants you to be perfect. Forgive yourself for still struggling with breastfeeding your little one. It takes time and she is not her older brother, you both need to find your own way. Commend yourself for not giving up despite your raw nipples and your aching back.

Forgive yourself for the times you raise your voice, for the wrong battles you pick and the tears that follow. You are tired and it’s ok to make mistakes as long as you apologise and keep trying. Forgive yourself for your doubts and your darkness. For neglecting the needs of your husband, for feeling ‘touched out’ at the end of the day and needing to keep your body to yourself. Forgive your mood swings and your occasional sadness. You give your children everything, it’s ok to feel empty as the day nears its end. You have yet to find your village and sometimes you will feel lost in the dark. But you are exactly where you need to be.

Anakin and mum

Mama, just remember to forgive yourself a little every day. It takes practise. What you’re doing is nothing short of amazing.

 

 

8 responses

  1. Susan

    Amen

    May 17, 2015 at 3:47 am

  2. Hi Dida. Great blog – great advice to all moms. With your permission, I would love to reblog “Mama, forgive yourself” on http://earthschool.life. We can provide author byline and reference your link. All U.S. residents are also automatically entered into our writing contest (no entry fee). Thank-you for your consideration, Mary. contact@earthschool.life

    May 18, 2015 at 2:35 am

    • Hi Mary,
      You are welcome to reblog this. Thank you!

      May 18, 2015 at 7:17 am

  3. Hi Dida. Thank-you for sharing! Your blog will be posted by tomorrow morning. Mary 🙂

    May 18, 2015 at 8:48 am

  4. Cathrine

    Nydelig innlegg som traff meg rett i mammahjertet!

    May 19, 2015 at 12:02 am

    • 🙂 Det er godt å vite at vi er flere!

      May 19, 2015 at 7:21 pm

  5. maanki

    Takk, denne trengte jeg i dag.
    Hilsen en annen tobarnsmamma, stappa full av dårlig samvittighet over egen “utilstrekkelighet”

    May 25, 2015 at 8:09 am

    • åh det er helt forferdelig innimellom, er det ikke? Jeg må minne meg selv på det her hver dag. Vi gjør verdens viktigste “jobb”, det er lov å bli sliten og å gjøre feil. Selv om man føler seg som verdens verste nå og da er man nok aldri det.

      May 26, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Leave a Reply

