6/52 – Him and Her

A portrait of my children, once a week, every week, for his fourth year and her first. 

6_52_web

Anakin: I remember hearing your voice in the hallway of the hospital the morning your sister was born. It was full of a special kind of excitement. Today was the day you finally got to meet the mysterious little person that had been growing in my belly for the past nine months. The very same person we’d talked to, sung to and dreamed about. As you entered the room my heart jumped and took me by surprise. How much you’d grown in just a couple of hours. You eagerly climbed into bed asking to hold her. I was shaken by how much I’d missed you in just a few hours, how much my love had grown and how desperately I wanted to hold you close. I picked her up and placed her on your lap. You gently kissed her face and gave her a cuddle. Your hands gentle and your face so full of love and wonder. 

***

6_52_Isis__web

Isis Indigo: My darling beautiful girl. My daughter.  You took us by surprise both at conception and delivery. Your screams are as loud as your nature is soft. I spent the whole night you were born just gazing at your squishy, little sleeping face so in awe of you. I felt my heart expand to make room for the love that exploded within me. From the moment I laid my hands on you, your soft body still warm from being inside me, I knew that nothing would ever be the same. Life as I knew it, love as I knew it, had just grown bigger and more powerful than I could have possibly ever imagined.  I held you close and took in that sweet, brand new scent in deep breaths cherishing the hours of darkness still left. Those early hours that were just yours and mine, before the world woke up and before our family reunited for the first meeting as a foursome. 

***

For all the squishy baby spam, find us on Instagram @didajenta

2 responses

  1. I know, it’s crazy how with the arrival of the new baby, your older one seems so much more grown up, all of a sudden… in a very heart-breaking way…

    February 23, 2015 at 1:20 pm

    • Definitely. Taller, older. Maybe it’s just that we have to come to terms with them not being our babies any more.

      March 2, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Leave a Reply

