46/52 – Here comes the sun (and the heat)

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, for the 3rd year of his life. 

46_52_web

Anakin: at your happiest running around outside in the buff watering the garden without a care in the world. This is the beauty of childhood. The freedom to explore and to be just who you are, safe within reach of those who love you. 

_DSC8424_web

***

I cherish every moment these days while we are still just three. Before the wave of events, visitors and baby, just us three. Things are changing fast. I often find myself navigating unfamiliar territory parenting an emotional toddler. I’m not a big stickler for rules, but rather for framework and for safe and loving boundaries. And of late this process has involved some unlearning of things that have come before (personal past experiences or observed “old school” ways)  or un-hearing of advice and opinions that don’t mix with my chosen way of parenting. My best advice to myself these days, and what I live by, is always follow your heart and act with love. More on that soon.

Leave a Reply

