35/52 – Lost

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, for the 3rd year of his life.

35_52_web

Anakin: Helping me test some bulbs on the flash kit by running around in front of the lights. Then suddenly you stopped and there was this. You look so lost in thought, I wonder what was going through your head. I love a great smile, but a serious face can be visually so much more intriguing. 

***

I honestly thought for a couple of days that we were over the hurdle of illness. Two days later (and a gym and creche visit after) Anakin got yet another cold. His immune system is shot from the gastro that started it all and the cold/flu that followed.  As I’m writing this he’s currently strapped on my back asleep in the Tula after having to give up trying to sleep in the bed because of a stuffy nose and constant coughing. Thank goodness for a good carrier. Three minutes in it and he was out like a light. No cough, no constant struggle to breathe through a stuffed nose. It doesn’t do wonders for me and all I had planned for nap time, but this is what we do right? We sacrifice so that our children can have what they need, particularly when they’re unwell. I know my back will be sore from standing like this and I know I’m losing valuable work time, but I couldn’t care less. Sleep and love are the best medicines for illness and providing that is more important than anything.

In other news I’m printing my Masters assessment show which opens September 10th and it is such a joy to finally bring these babies to life. There is just something irreplaceable about the photograph as object, particularly when it is work that has been created during the most life changing and excellent times of pregnancy, birth and motherhood, and which stands as witness and evidence of an enormous personal achievement. I’ll share some of the work with you soon.

xx Dida

4 responses

  1. evergrowingfarm

    Aw…sweet boy! Yes, we do what we have to do so that our Little Ones can be comfortable, if not happy 🙂 Glad to have found your through Documenting Delight 🙂

    September 1, 2014 at 9:45 am

    • Definitely. 🙂 A content child is its own reward. If only we could carry their illness for them. xx

      September 14, 2014 at 6:52 pm

  2. I came across your blog through Documenting Delight and I’m so glad I did! Loving the photos and honesty in your writing. Been hoping to find a blog like this for a while to start following 🙂 All the best xx Fleur

    September 1, 2014 at 6:48 pm

    • Thank you! I’m so glad you like it. 🙂 We’ve been a bit quiet of late, but we’re finally back. Thanks for dropping by! xx

      September 14, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Leave a Reply

