27/52 – Helicopter

A portrait of my son once a week, every week, for the 3rd year of his life.

27_52_web

Anakin: I often find you quietly pottering away in your play area. You’ll get your stepladder and pull it down the stairs and over to the small table. When I ask you what you’re doing you say “I’m riding a helicopter! Do you want to come along?”  A piece of plastic becomes your steering wheel, you find other bits and pieces and place around it, all of utmost importance for the helicopter to work of course. 

****

I didn’t take many photos last week. It was just one of those weeks again. Everyone had too much to do and with the really bad weather, cabin fever. While this is by far not the best photo of the lot, it is definitely the one that describes Anakin the best these days. His imagination astounds and thrills me every day. I can not wait to hand in my Masters in a couple of weeks and finally take some time off to dedicate to him and him alone. (And cleaning this pigsty of a house that has been neglected for too long!)  While there is still much work to be done before the exhibition that follows, I know that I’ll be better able to be fully present once I hand in this brick of an exegesis. If anyone ever thought doing a postgraduate degree while caring for a kid full-time was a walk in the park they would need their head checked. Then after comes the great unknown, I suppose. The great unknown swimming in a sea of debt. One foot forward at a time, right?

Leave a Reply

