26/52- Stumps and ghosts

A portrait of my son once a week, every week, for the 3rd year of his life. 

26_52_web

Anakin: Standing on a tree stump in the corner of our yard wearing my rain hat and reciting a rhyme about ghosts. This stump is the designated spot for this rhyme. As much as possible it is performed on one leg.

***

Some days just last forever and seem to test every fibre of your being. Today was one of those days. We’ve had a week where none of us has slept very well, I got the flu, my partner has been incredibly busy and Anakin has tested his toddler rage to the limits. The rage I saw tonight I have never seen in my sweet, little boy before. So much frustration and no proper way of letting it out. Somehow I managed to find my most calm self and ride it out while letting him rage in my arms. It’s ok to be angry. Sometimes I think I should be better at telling myself the same things I tell my son. It’s ok to cry, it’s ok to be angry and frustrated as long as you don’t hurt anyone or yourself. I’ll sit right here with you until you feel better. It took a few very deep breaths and a every bit of patience I could muster, but we got there. And we got there in the best way where no one was left feeling scared, ignored or shameful.  And in the end everyone could enjoy story time, good night songs and cuddles.

Now all we have to do is ride out the storm outside. Stay safe and stay warm.

2 responses

  1. I have to remind myself that it is okay to cry, im not one to cry easily, but I am learning that if I need to then its ok 🙂 I love this picture by the way 🙂

    June 27, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    • Thanks!

      I’m learning that too. It sure helps sometimes! 🙂

      July 11, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Leave a Reply

