887 days – Goodbye and thanks for all the milk

887 days. 2 years, 5 months and 5 days.

Feed time

It’s the end of an era.

For 887 days I breastfed you. And for most of that time it was a beautiful thing we shared, my body nourishing and protecting yours. One of the best choices I ever made was to keep going for as long as I thought was best, to give you what you needed until I could give it no more. We’ve had some resistance you and I, opinionated people who for some reason think it’s gone on too long. Who think it’s their business to comment on and who have no knowledge of the benefits of it all, for us both. Some have thought it was selfish, others have thought it was too selfless, but we stuck with what we wanted and believed in.

I always wondered when it would come to an end. I guess I somehow thought it would happen on its own, that you would somehow lose interest and that would be it. But you didn’t.

And lately it became uncomfortable and even painful. Those moments we shared became less and less enjoyable for me. And as much as I’ve hated to do it I’ve had to say enough with a gentle nudge so we could move closer to ending that last one we shared every day. It pains me to hear you cry and see the grief and sorrow on your face.  Even offering a million hugs won’t take away that loss, I know that, but believe me when I say I can do it no more. If I could I would.

You always were a boobies boy.  We had a good run, baby.

It’s time to say goodbye and thanks for all the milk.

 

Boobies

8 responses

  1. Reblogged this on Journey2dfuture and commented:
    Beautifully written. I soon will be at the end.

    May 29, 2014 at 8:54 pm

  2. ååh, kjære du. nå kom det en tåre her. det er så sårt, og så vakkert, og du har vært den beste mammaen. tenk så mye du har gitt. stor klem!

    May 29, 2014 at 10:47 pm

    • Tusen takk, fine du! Det er så vanskelig, men jeg måtte til slutt sette meg selv først. Og det var med tungt hjerte, men så lenge vi klemmer litt ekstra på hverandre går alt bra. 🙂

      June 12, 2014 at 1:46 pm

  3. Reblogged this on minitravelbug and commented:
    We’re coming to the end of breastfeeding now I’m back to work and I’m surprised how sad I feel in anticipation of that day. There are some lovely memories and some frustrating and foot stompingly painful memories.

    May 30, 2014 at 7:36 am

  4. Well done! That’s awesome for your little one. I would love to read a follow up on how it goes… I am not in the process of weaning yet myself, but I know my girl is not going to give it up easily… At 18 months she still nurses every 3h pretty much (sometimes more), day AND night 🙂

    May 30, 2014 at 10:17 am

    • Thank you! It’s gone pretty well. We started slowly by dropping his morning feed which was easy when his grandmother was visiting and could distract him. He started making up for it in the afternoon though, but after a while we got down to once a day, the night time one, which was the hardest. But because he could see that it hurt me, I think it made it easier for him. He still asks and cries for it, usually after his nap, but we have long cuddle sessions instead and I make sure to hold him through it. He’s a bit more edgy than usual at times, but it’s all gone very smoothly.

      Good on your for still keeping up night feeds!! 🙂

      June 12, 2014 at 1:45 pm

  5. Mercy has all but stopped. Pregnancy was a blessing for the fact that she self weaned and there has been little heart ache. For her.
    You have done such a great job!
    And look at how much your little man has grown from that boobies picture.
    I’ll have a new nurseling any day now. I was secretly quite enjoying not nursing lol.
    Best of luck with your current project!

    May 31, 2014 at 7:04 pm

    • Thank you! And congratulations on your arriving but! How exciting!

      June 12, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Leave a Reply

