22/52- Little Big one

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, for the 3rd year of his life. 

22_52_web

Anakin: I look at you and wonder how someone so little can seem so big. I watched you run down the street in front of me today, listened as you told me about everything around us. The way you describe things, the words you use and sentences you make are nothing short of astounding. Then as you curl up in my lap later in the day for a cuddle wearing nothing but a nappy you are again so little, so soft, so warm and ever so much my baby. 

You are so complete in every way, yet still so fresh. How lucky am I to get to watch it all unfold. 

****

I’ve been having a slow and strange week hence the late 52 post. My head has been in my postgraduate work and in editing a new image I shot on the weekend, which I have fallen head over heels in love with. There’s much bubbling and many things happening around here, one of which is that I’ve finally kicked myself up the bum and started going to the gym. (I know, crazy, right?) I find I blog while I cook and while I clean, but I never make it to the computer these days. No excuses, I know.

5 responses

  1. lu

    beautiful! words and image, very special!

    June 1, 2014 at 10:30 am

    • Thank you!

      June 12, 2014 at 1:41 pm

  2. curtains are so wonderful when you are small 🙂

    June 1, 2014 at 10:53 am

  3. I feel much the same about Timothy. One moment he’s all grown up and big, and then he falls and cries and folds into my arm all so small and in need of my love and protection…

    June 3, 2014 at 4:03 am

    • It’s reassuring when they still need us so desperately. I cherish every one of those moments.

      June 12, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Leave a Reply

