19/52 – Skeletor

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, for the 3rd year of his life. 

19_52_web

Anakin: My sweet, sweet son. It is clear as day who your parents are. If there ever was any doubt in my mind about how growing up surrounded by our strange collection of things would influence you, there is no doubt anymore. Our house is full of all kinds of weird and wonderful things; artworks, masks, taxidermy, books and sculptures. A world just waiting for you. 

I was looking through some old photography props in one of my dress up stashes the other day when you walked into the room and asked what I was holding. I showed you this and you were instantly intrigued. After tightening the elastic so it fit you this mask did not come off, not even for bath time. You looked in the mirror and absolutely loved what you saw. 

It is such a privilege to watch your imagination grow and flourish. Just thinking about all the fun we’ll have in all the years to come makes me all giddy. 

____

It’s been a strange couple of weeks around here. Any sort of free time, as if there ever really was any, has vanished as our nights have been taken over by a little one struggling with major separation anxiety and troubles sleeping. As well as dealing with loss, departures and illness, deadlines seem to be crashing down around us like never before. For me it is the home stretch of my postgraduate degree for now which brings with it a chaos of things that needed to be done yesterday, for my partner it is more things than I can keep track of. And on occasion we remember that we have a wedding to plan for December. But still, in the midst of it all, there is no place I would rather be and nothing I would rather do. (Except maybe go on a family holiday somewhere not too warm with long beaches and post-bedtime cocktails.)

More 52 Project

2 responses

  1. Ah, han altsaa 😉

    Supert bilde av herligste gutten!!

    May 21, 2014 at 3:07 pm

    • Jeg ler så jeg griner så ofte av alle påfunnene hans. For en gave barna våre gir oss med så mye latter og glede!

      May 24, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

