A different week

_DSC4491_web

 

It’s been a bit of  a different week for us. Solo parenting for 7 days while my partner is in LA for work. This time has been a whole new deal for a little boy who struggles to understand where pappa is and why he isn’t coming home every night, or why he isn’t next to us in bed in the morning. Moods run high and low, and the need for stability and comfort is bigger.

It’s heartbreaking to hear his little voice call out for pappa and to see the look on his face when he realises pappa is still not here.

It’s hard work, but we’re doing fine

I’ve stepped a bit away from gadgets, work and distractions this week, trying to keep my focus where it needs to be and unplug. An emotional toddler is hard work, but one that misses his pappa is even harder. I’ve quite enjoyed the quiet nights despite being so exhausted I can hardly keep my eyes open. And I admit to have sought out the comfort of a glass of wine (or three) after the sun goes down and the house is quiet.

But I can’t wait for Tuesday and this again.

 

_DSC2649_web

 

 

My boys together. Doesn’t get any better than that.

Leave a Reply

