10/52 – Skulls and bows

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, for the 3rd year of his life.

10_52_web

Anakin: I was putting my hair up before we went out and you spotted a hair clip in the cupboard. “What’s this then?'” (This is how you ask about everything.) “It’s a bow, it goes in your hair.” “Anakin try.” “Ok, let me put it in for you.” You looked in the mirror and smiled. You pulled it out, but as soon as it was out you demanded I put it back in. We got ready to go for our walk. You’d put together your own outfit of skulls and stripes. Your hand searched for the bow in your hair. “Do you want me to take it out?” I asked. “No! Anakin bow!” And we went for our walk. 

I love the fact that you are too young to know and care about gender stereotypes. I love that you think a bow in your hair looks pretty, and that skull pants are the best. 

More 52 project

9 responses

  1. Tina =)

    Herlig liten type, han der! =)

    March 3, 2014 at 8:38 pm

    • Ja, han er litt av en figur! 🙂

      March 3, 2014 at 8:40 pm

  2. erindove81

    He sure does look pretty.
    Mercy wears whatever she wants. Always accessorised with hat, glasses and gloves. She wore her pjs with a swimsuit over the top to daycare the other day.
    Today I got her an aviators hat with goggles. She loves it.
    Gender stereotypes are silly. Let kids be kids 😀

    March 3, 2014 at 9:00 pm

    • Couldn’t agree more! I think the swimsuit outfit sounds rad! 🙂

      I envy the total freedom they have from all stereotypes and other peoples opinions. I wish they never had to grow out of it or learn that the world is full of boxes and people who will try to shove you in one or more of them.
      We definitely try to do our bit to make sure Anakin grows up as free as possible.

      March 10, 2014 at 7:26 pm

  3. I love the boy+ skull combination 🙂 He is sooooo cute 🙂

    March 7, 2014 at 12:39 am

    • Thanks! He’s got a thing for hair accessories at the moment. I think more boys should wear bows. if you can wear one around your neck why not on your head, right? 🙂

      March 10, 2014 at 7:28 pm

  4. I meant to write bow + skull 🙂

    March 7, 2014 at 12:39 am

  5. jen

    sweet sweet!

    March 8, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    • Thanks! 🙂

      March 10, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Leave a Reply

