Heaven as a vegetable side dish

I’ve been on a making spree lately. Wait, who am I kidding, I’ve always been on a making spree, but lately it’s had a lot to do with food. I love food. But as much as I love to eat I also like to try to be somewhat healthy and my explorations lately has been much about that. Healthy, yummy food.

People have been telling me that I need to blog my recipes, but I just seem to eat whatever I cook before I can photograph it, and.. I’m also just not that into food photography. Not enough to make it look good. And I’m also not into posting anything without images. Get my problem?

Anyway, last night I made my new favourite, vegetable side dish. It’s ridiculously easy and unbelievably tasty. You can use whatever vegetables you like, I usually mix it up a bit from one time to the next. My key players are definitely the brussel sprouts and the broccoli.

_DSC1364_web

Ingredients (last night):

Brussel sprouts, halved

Broccoli, cut into florets

Carrot

Pumpkin

Parsnip

Garlic, sliced (I used 4 cloves because I love garlic) You could also leave these whole

Pine nuts, toasted

Lemon

Parmesan

salt+ pepper

a good olive oil

Preheat your oven to about 200 degrees. Get out a large bowl and prep your vegetables. You wanna cut any big ones like the brussel sprouts in half to reduce cooking time and divide the rest into reasonably sized chunks.. Lightly toss all the vegetables in olive oil with a bit of sea salt in the bowl. I like to give mine a slight massage. Spread the vegetables on an oven tray covered in aluminium foil. Roast for about 25-30 minutes depending on the size of your veggies. Poke them to make sure they’re cooked. You want the broccoli to start going brown at the edges. While your veggies are cooking toast your pine nuts and grate a good handful of parmesan. Once finished, pour everything into a large serving bowl. Add a bit more olive oil, the nuts and the juice of half a lemon (or a bit more, depends on how much veggies you have and how tangy you like it. I like mine tangy.) Season and add your parmesan. Toss it all up and serve! YUM!

_DSC1367_web

We served ours with a nice porterhouse and some mustard. Of course I was too busy eating to photograph that.

Leave a Reply

