I used to be a creature of the night. Now I’m just a different kind of creature.

I used to be one of those night owls. Working into the wee hours of the morning, always at my most productive after dark. I guess that’s partly why I got into light painting. Daylight just wasn’t as good a friend as darkness was. In the dark I could control the light, mostly anyway, and  I wasn’t at the mercy of this big, burning ball in the sky. I was just like any other art student, full of passion and bad habits.

And then there was motherhood. And I became an other kind of night owl. A sleep deprived love zombie always caring for someone other than myself and my art in the dark. And my camera became a daytime thing. For a while anyway.

These days I’m trying to perfect the balancing act between the two. Most certainly easier said than done, but I’m working on it. I know I refer to what I do a lot, but rarely show any of it (except briefly here) and I realise this must leave some questions in regards to what it actually is that i do. There’s definitely a gap between my artworks and the photos I take of my son. So I figured I’d show you a couple of images from my most recent body of work. I haven’t got around to updating my website yet, so for now let’s consider this their unofficial internet premier of sorts.

It goes without saying that these images are copyrighted and may not be reproduced in any form without my explicit permission. I hate watermarks, but it seems you can’t be too careful these days.

A very brief introduction to this project; I’m actively displacing and re-situating Norwegian myths and folktales in an Australian landscape to see what happens when traditional things are allowed to grow and are inserted into a new and unfamiliar context. I’d love to tell you more, but in fear that I might bore you to death by getting into the conceptual and theoretical nit and grit I’ll leave it at that. (click on the images for a larger view.)

Reveenka (The fox's widow), 2013

Reveenka (The fox’s widow), 2013

Sjøtroll (Sea troll), 2013

Sjøtroll (Sea troll), 2013

Tre sitroner (Three lemons), 2013

Tre sitroner (Three lemons), 2013 (main image from a triptych)

Hughr (concepts of the pre-christian soul), 213

Hughr (concepts of the pre-christian soul), 2013

Anakin loves looking at my work. He has two old pieces hanging in his room (not too scary ones) and some are hanging around the house in various places. Hopefully he won’t grow into a fear of clowns from this one. 🙂

Anyway, there you have it. A very brief insight into what it is I’m working on these days. Once I finish the series I’ll show you the whole thing, I may even link you up to my thesis once it’s written in case you’re interested. I’ll be showing this work in Bendigo in September next year. There’s a few more trips out into the dark to be made before then. With more creatures, more costumes and always a lot of fun.

2 responses

  1. kjempestas å få se hva du jobber med! jeg beundrer den tålmodigheten og målrettetheten det krever å komponere et foto på denne måten. hadde aldri fiksa det sjøl, haha! og de er veldig flotte. jegt likte spesielt three lemons og sjøtrollet. er det draugen?
    takk for at du delte!
    klem!

    November 10, 2013 at 7:11 pm

  2. Takk for fine ord! Jeg er en perfeksjonist med en aldri så liten regissør i magen, så jo mer kontroll, jo bedre. 🙂 Det er bare så vanskelig å finne energi til å begi seg ut i natta når man har en liten en som våkner så tidlig. Men det går jo!

    Det er en slags draugen, ja. 🙂 Han er løst basert på Kittelsen’s Sjøtroll illustrasjon. Han skal inn i en større sammenheng etterhvert med andre troll/nøkken og slikt. Koselig at du likte det! Det har vært det bildet jeg er mest usikker på om jeg egentlig synes funker. Jeg fikk se det på en stor skjerm her om dagen og det treffer nok der jeg vil det skal når jeg får printa det stort.

    Klem! 🙂

    November 11, 2013 at 11:21 am

Leave a Reply

