It’s been a hard day’s night

_DSC0755_web

I don’t know how to comfort you when you won’t let me hold you. I just can’t reach you when you scream too loud to hear me. I’m trying to tell you that you’re not alone, that I’m here and I’m not going anywhere. It’s ok to overflow with rage, confusion or hurt. It’s ok to lose control. I’ll be right here waiting until you let me in.

Sometimes you just have to trust that I know what I’m doing, that if you let me, I will make things better. Sometimes you just have to let me take control and love you down, sing you calm and hold you tight.

_DSC0748_web

If it means carrying you around close to me then that’s what I’ll do. If it means taking you outside in the dark and asking if you can hear the cockatoo’s snoring, to stand there in the misty rain just being quiet, or singing the same song a hundred times over until you fall asleep in my arms… then that’s what I’ll do.

_DSC0746_web

You have to trust that no matter what you do, how angry you get or badly you hurt I will always be right here. I won’t always be able to fix it or make it go away, but I will always go to the end of the world for you to try to make it better.

Sometimes you just have to trust me, to let me take control and love you down, sing you calm and hold you tight.

_DSC0760_web

Because nobody loves you like I do.

xx Mamma

Leave a Reply

