Great balls of… delicious!

As some of you may know we are becoming more and more aware of what we feed our family. My son rarely eats or drinks anything containing sugar or other types of crap, but that doesn’t mean he never gets any treats! Though it does go with the story that our little guy loves green chilli garlic olives, all kinds of cheese (brie is the most recent favourite), raw vegetables and fruit, so giving him treats is easy as. He’s a got a bit of a palate, this one.

Anyways, I’ve been reading about raw cacao (not cocoa!) for some time and drooling over recipes, but never really got around to it until a friend gave me some the other day. Somehow that finally gave me the kick I needed to make some chocolatey nibbles. And let me just say.. holy balls of deliciousness! I can’t believe something with so many things that are good for you can taste this amazing! ( I lie, I totally can, but you get the picture.)

Yup, totally instagrammed my balls. (didajenta)

Yup, totally instagrammed my balls. (@didajenta)

I decided to try a recipe I found over at Deliciously Ella for these raw coconut and cacao bites. So simple, so fast and OH SO YUMMY!! I’ll definitely be trying some more of her recipes. You should pop on over and check out the recipe on her site, but in case you’re lazy here it is:

– 1 cup of desiccated coconut

– 1 cup of almonds

– 1/2 a dozen medjool dates

– 4 tablespoons of cashew butter (I used cashew spread, which is just 100% cashews whizzed into a spread. Found it in the health food section at the supermarket.)

– 2 tablespoons of raw cacao

– 1 tablespoon of coconut oil

Whizz up almonds and coconut in the blender until it starts to look like a flour. Add cashew butter, coconut oil and cacao. Blend a bit more and then slowly add the (pitted) dates. Blend until mixed well and sticky. Roll into balls and coat with more coconut before sticking them in a fridge to firm up for about an hour.

I thought about doubling the recipe, but it makes a lot of balls so unless you’re having a party there’s no need.

There you go! Healthy, vegan, sugar-free and more delicious than you can dream of.

Enjoy! And if you can, please do buy organic.

Leave a Reply

