Remember these things

Dear Anakin,

There are a few things I need to write down before I forget them. It’s too easy to forget the little things in the whirlwind of days, the ones that are so small, yet so magical.

_DSC9808_web

Like how you went into the garden today to pick me a flower and came running back with the biggest smile on your face to give it to me. “Flower, mamma! Smell flower!” You held it up to my nose and let me smell it before you gently put it in my hand and ran back out on the grass.

How during dinner you picked up the broccoli, one of your favourite vegetables, and exclaimed “Flower!” and put your nose in it to smell it. I said “It’s broccoli, honey.” You looked at me with a cheeky smile and insisted it was a flower and smelt it some more before putting the whole thing in your mouth.

_DSC9843_web

How you always pick a flower from the same spot when we go for a walk, clasping it in your hand for the entire way, and how you stopped to hug a lamp-post on our way yesterday.

How you try to stroke my hair at bedtime, but end up pulling it and how I lie there for as long as I can before I say ouch because it melts my heart a little bit that you try so hard to be gentle.

How you kiss me after every time I have to raise my voice when you act like a monkey at bedtime to make sure everything is ok.

These things, and more, are things I want to remember.

These are only some of the million things that make me love you so much my heart explodes.

_DSC9839_web

Smell the flower, pappa.

4 responses

  1. Tania

    Adorable and very true, such small moments but oh so special!! ( Both my children, son 12, daughter 5 absolutely LOVE Broccoli. I haven’t met another child nor parent who has said the same of their own children. Very good too for natural energy and sustainability for endurance sports, like swimming. )

    September 4, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    • Anakin is a vegetable boy! And fish, give him fish and he’s a happy camper.

      I fall head over heels with these moments, even more so than usual.

      September 10, 2013 at 8:25 pm

  2. Ooh, heart-melting-little-Anakin 😉

    September 5, 2013 at 1:59 am

    • sometimes he’s so sweet I want to eat him.

      September 10, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Leave a Reply

