Mexican lime taco spice mix recipe

Oh how I love love LOVE MMmmmmmexican!! It’s my favourite food. I could eat it 5 days a week, I’m sure.

Anyways, my Norwegian friend Vigids over at Jeg er Jonathan has urged her readers to share some of their favourite recipes and/or photos of their dinners or weekly menus so that we can inspire each other to eat healthy and tasty food. I know I sometimes struggle to find inspiration for what to put on the dinner table so this is perfect for some easy access inspiration. To join you can leave a link to your recipe or menu under the dinner (middag) link up on her blog, or you can simply Instagram your dinner and hashtag it #vigdismiddag. No need to speak Norwegian to look at photos, right?

So here’s my Mexican lime Taco Spice mix recipe!

(I can’t remember where I found this originally. It’s been in my recipe book for a while.)

I normally use this for chicken, but you can use it for vegetables, beef, fish or whatever else tickles your fancy. To make it kid friendly, simply skip the chilli or reduce the amount of it. Unless your kids like it hot, that is.

Excuse the bad photo. I am too hungry to photograph my food properly

Excuse the bad photo. I am too hungry to photograph my food properly

In a bowl mix:

Juice of 1-2 limes

zest of 1 lime

2tsp smoked paprika

1tsp onion powder

1 1/2-2 tsp cumin

1tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

salt+pepper

Approx. 2tbs Olive oil (Use as much as you need to make enough marinade. This will make enough for 2 regular sized chicken breasts)

Mix it all up and let whatever it is you’re cooking marinate for a bit. I cut my chicken into pieces before marinating. Then simply toss everything in the pan and cook until done.

Serve in a soft or hard taco with whatever you like. Perhaps some black beans, roast vegetable salsa, guacamole, shredded red cabbage (or a coleslaw mix), corn and cucumber with some white corn chips and lime? YUM!

Leave a Reply

