Day 297 to 301 – 365 Project

297/365

                               297/365 High and Low

The road from high to low is usually a short one. One moment you’re all smiles and laughter, the next your world crumbles. It’s not always easy understanding why things sometimes turn so quickly, and I bet it’s not easy when you lack the words to explain.

(Note: There’s been a lot of debate around photographing and publishing images of children crying. I never photograph my son when he is sick, hurt or in any real distress. As this is a documentary project of a year in my son’s life, and of our journey with him as his parents,  I feel that it would not be very accurate nor true if I never showed him crying. The images of him crying are almost always taken from a set, in which most times the frame before he was not. I do not go out of my way to photograph him when he cries, nor do I ever make him cry for the camera. I do not in any way feel that this image ridicules, belittles or taunts him, nor is it an attempt to embarrass him.)

 

298/365

                                    298/365 A car, a horse, a vacuum 

The vacuum is quickly becoming a new favourite toy. It’s rarely found where we left it and now answers to horse, car and, very occasionally also, the vacuum.

 

299/365

                                  299/365 Check out (the) lady

Never the one to miss an opportunity to practice your charms on the ladies. You wait impatiently to get within reach, ready to tilt your head and show those pearly whites. You’re perfecting the art of wrapping people around your finger. I should know, I’m often the first to go.

 

300/365

                                      300/365 That day

I remember this day so well. Frustrated and tired, we battled our way on and off through the day. And then this happened. You were looking out the window so intently, the light fell so perfectly on your face. I shot a series of images, almost all of which came out amazing in one way or another. In these moments what happened before was forgotten, all I saw was perfection, your perfection.

 

301/365

                                     301/365 The joker 

The older you get, the funnier you are. You clearly have jokes you play on us, though we sometimes don’t understand them. You’ve learnt how to control a room full of people, that your laughter is infectious and that most of the time the immediate world revolves around you.

 

2 responses

  1. erindove81

    Thank you for sharing photos of Anakin in all of his moods.
    The pic of him crying took my breath away he is so absolutely adorable.
    My daughter does a very similar face, all of a sudden, out if no where.
    Your boy is beautiful. You are blessed.

    August 7, 2013 at 11:23 pm

    • Thank you, Erin! Although I don’t go out of my way to photograph him crying, I must admit, despite sometimes being heartbreaking, there is something very raw and beautiful about them when they do.

      August 14, 2013 at 12:12 pm

Leave a Reply

