Journey to Norway through snap shots, part 1

I took so many photos while we were in Norway I’ve had to just start at the beginning and do it in smaller instalments. Choosing between them all is hard, editing is time consuming. I tried not to have my face covered by a camera as much as I could so as the title suggest the images are quick snap shots, simple recordings of some of the things we experienced. I’ve chosen to not look at which images will go in the 365 for this period for now, so there’s bound to be some double ups at a later date.

As always I am guilty of being terrible at taking photos of landscape and scenery, and things that do not include Anakin. (It’s the whole image maker versus image taker thing again.) But I think our 1500 photos from 3 weeks still covered the vital bits. Of course, most of the landscape photos I really needed and actually did take, I managed to lose in some faulty transfer  (or in a moment of not paying proper attention). oh well. Anyways, here is the first instalment! I hope you enjoy it!

Transit eating

Transit eating in Dubai. If you didn’t catch my post with tips for traveling with a toddler, you can find it here.

Frankfurt airport. A bit of coffee to keep us going

Frankfurt airport. A bit of coffee to keep us going, a bit of running to get some energy out of his system. Traveling outfit is all about comfort of course.

A bit of email checking and phone charging

A bit of email checking and phone charging, or “poking pappa’s laptop as much as I can to drive him crazy”, while we wait to board for the last stretch to Oslo.

Escaping the madness

Escaping the madness the second day back. Hello cabin by the lake!

After going straight from the airport to a family birthday we were all pretty beat. I was in excruciating pain from a tooth that decided to go from bad to horrible the day before we left, and I hadn’t slept since before we left Melbourne. I do not recommend ever flying with a tooth ache. The next day, after I had gone to the dentist for an emergency root canal, we escaped to my partner’s family cabin by a lake in the woods for the weekend.  It was rainy and cold, but we loved it. With us came two of our oldest and very best friends.

Getting the look on with grandma.

Getting the Norwegian woodland look on with grandma L who came up to show us a few things before our friends arrived.

The view

The view

the view II

the view II

It was a weekend of the good, the great and the difficult. Dealing with a jet lagged kid out of his routine was tough and challenging. The first few days in Norway Anakin went through a phase of total rejection of me and my partner during daytime except for when things got desperate. Nighttime was all about me, all the time. Our plans to catch fish were washed away by the rain, but we thoroughly enjoyed our time there, although it was far too short.

_DSC7582_web

Rainy day Yatzy by the fire. No tv, no phone, no internet and no laptop. It was like life crept back into us all as we enjoyed the very simple things with some fine people.

Hanging out with his aunty.

Hanging out with his aunty. My best friend was an instant hit with Anakin, as I knew she would be. Seeing them finally together made me happier than anything.

The rain finally stopped for our much anticipated rib BBQ.

The rain finally stopped for our much anticipated rib BBQ. Eirik, our excellent cook, dished up a spectacular feed. And we made quite an impressing effort to devour a massive amount of meat.

The cook

The cook

A (finally) sleeping kid and some delicious food

A (finally) sleeping kid and some delicious dinner by the fire

Smelling that wine real good

Smelling that wine real good

Pointing fingers

Pointing fingers agreeing on being in the very best company.

A man in his element

A man in his element. It’s been ages since I saw my man as relaxed as this. It was a sight for sore eyes.

My oldest and dearest friend.  This is true love right here

My oldest and dearest friend. This is true love right here. I can’t even begin to tell you how much I wish this lady lived closer to me. There are few finer human beings on this planet.

33 years of unconditional love and friendship

33 years of unconditional love and friendship

Keeping warm and keeping the mossies away

Keeping warm and keeping the mossies away

A morning walk through the woods

A morning walk through the woods. I love the Norwegian woodland.

A good place for a nap, right?

A good place for a nap, right? Anakin thankfully agreed.

Stay tuned as our journey continues! In the meantime I’ll try to check in with some more 365 and other bits if I find the time.

Leave a Reply

