When there are no words

I’m supposed to be doing a million things right now, but I just can’t get something out of my head… or my heart.

What do you do when you’re faced with unimaginable grief?

The past few months things have happened that have made me cherish what I have just that much more and really cemented a perspective on things. While we complained about tantrums and broken sleep, bickered about house chores and shopping, someone was watching their little one fight for his life, and he lost.  After only just arriving, he was gone.

I can’t imagine how devastating that is. I only know that as a peripheral bystander I was shaken to my core. And just thinking about it brings tears to my eyes and my heart bleeds.

So what do you say when you’re faced with someone filled with unimaginable grief? When you don’t want to stir the waters, don’t want to cause any additional pain, but you still want to scream

I’M SO TERRIBLY SORRY!!

But sorry doesn’t even begin to cover such a tragedy, it fails on all levels, and you can find no words

of your own.

IMG_2997

Too Soon

This was a life that had hardly begun
No time to find your place in the Sun
No time to do all you could have done
But we loved you enough for a lifetime

No time to enjoy the world and it’s wealth
No time to take life down off the shelf
No time to sing the songs of yourself
Though you had enough love for a lifetime

Those who live long endure sadness and tears
But you’ll never suffer the sorrowing years
No betrayal, no anger, no hatred, no fears
Just love – Only love – In your lifetime.

-Mary Yarnall

One response

  1. That is… I don’t have words to describe he horrible, ho frightening this is…
    But everyone is different in the way they grief… if this is a close enough person, I would ask them what kind of support they can accept. My very close friend went through numerous miscarriages and wanted to pretend that nothing happened. She didn’t want to talk or think about it…

    June 18, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Leave a Reply

