Mother

My heart and my mind is a bit too full to find many words today. I’ve been thinking a lot about how becoming a mother has changed me, but for now it will have to remain thoughts until I can find the time to sort them better.

It’s been a wonderful day. Not particularly different to any other day, but I have enjoyed every bit of it. From a quiet night, a longer sleep in, a wonderful drawing and hot coffee  to lunch with my men and more hugs than I could ever ask for.

Motherhood has changed me in ways I could never have imagined. I came across this wonderful quote over at Che and Fidel. It says it all.

“The most difficult part of birth is the first year afterwards. It is the year of travail – when the soul of a woman must birth the mother inside her. The emotional labour pains of becoming a mother are far greater than the physical pangs of birth; these are the growing surges of your heart as it pushes out selfishness and fear and makes room for sacrifice and love. It is a private and silent birth of the soul, but it is no less holy than the event of childbirth, perhaps it is even more sacred.”

 Joy Kusek

_DSC6337_web

SuperMum (yeah, yeah, I know, I should really flex my muscles when doing this…)

In light of everything above, and for no particular reason whatsoever,  what better than to have a very impromptu, low tech family photo shoot in the corner of the bedroom?  Yes, there are quite a few photos. It was hard to choose today and we had too much fun! (Pfft.. there is no such thing as too much fun!)

_DSC6363_web

_DSC6300_web _DSC6302_web _DSC6316_web

_DSC6318_web _DSC6330_web _DSC6345_web

nothing is complete without a bit of jumping

nothing is complete without a bit of jumping

_DSC6369_web

Happy Mother’s day to me, my mum and to all the mamas out there! 

2 responses

  1. That qoute blew my mind…-amazing! And you guys look awesome together. What a lovely family ❤ Wish you loads and loads of ordinary but spectacular days just like today!

    May 12, 2013 at 9:36 pm

    • Thank you, Jona! 🙂 We had a fun day! My favourite days are by far the ones we get to spend together doing nothing in particular, but whatever we want.

      That quote stuck with me all day. Stepping into motherhood sure felt like a birth in its own right, the very best kind. I’m with you, I love birth, be it baby or mother!

      Much love ❤

      May 13, 2013 at 11:38 am

Leave a Reply

