Stitches

I’ve always loved making things and this has definitely not changed since I had Anakin. A while ago now I figured I’d like to start sewing baby clothes, mostly for boys, to sell here and there, nothing big, just low-key, maybe at markets or something. I’d sew under the name Little Horrors. (Fitting when you consider the thing I have for skulls on Anakin’s clothes exemplified both on this romper and on this hat. And… its’ funny.)

Yep, it was a nice idea, but there’s simply no time until I finish my post grad. Time is not in abundance these days. So until then I’ve just kept it to sewing things for Anakin, which is by far the best thing anyway. And if nothing else it helps me figure out what to make at a later date if I decide to venture down that road and how to make it. I’m a fully self-taught learning by doing type of person, so I guess time to figure more things out is not a bad thing.

A couple of weeks ago I sewed this flannel romper for him.

stitches1It’s a harem style overall with cuffed pants and a lined bodice. Only problem is my kid’s tiny for his age so figuring out his size is easier said than done when it comes to patterns. I made this in a size 18 months expecting it to be a bit too big (he’s 16 months in a couple of days), but not to be as tall as he is. He’s got a lot of growing to do before he’ll fit into this one. Oh well, the day will come.

stitches2

I’ve sewed some great bibs (I’ll show you those later) with this flannel and the only downside to it is that the black fades to grey really fast. I personally don’t really mind, but you know… it would be better if it didn’t.

2 responses

  1. love the button holes – I know they’re lots of work!

    April 21, 2013 at 3:57 am

    • Thanks! I’ve always been scared of them because I thought so too, but once you figure them out, they’re so easy!

      April 21, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Leave a Reply

