Exhale and take a Big Breath

Yesterday was the day. The first day in a long time we were not expecting or currently having any visitors.

Since the second week of December we have had visitors for a total of 9 weeks. (I know, crazy, right?) It has been (mostly) a great pleasure to see friends and relatives, but it was a very tired family who hit the sofa when the last person left and Sunday night rolled around.  I must admit it was a relief to wake up to an empty house knowing that it will stay that way for a long time. I think we all exhaled and lowered our shoulders a bit.

It doesn’t matter how much you love someone or look forward to having them stay, having visitors, and a lot of them, takes its toll, especially when there’s a little person involved. So for the rest of the year and until I finish my post grad our doors will be closed for any overseas, interstate or just overnight company. We obviously still welcome drop-ins for dinner or a cuppa or two.

But just as we all exhale and get back to being just us, it is time for me to take a big breath and get ready to single parent for a week while my partner flies to LA tomorrow for LAwebfest where he features with his award-winning documentary webseries, The Inland Sea, as well as sitting on some panel discussions as an academic and act as ambassador for the new Melbourne webfest.

My boys

My boys… I’ll miss seeing this the next week

True to his fine sense of humour Anakin has started waking up pretty much all night, just to ice mamma’s cake a bit before pappa leaves. I’m in for a ride, but I am kind of looking forward to it. Quiet nights are just what I need to get through a pile of work on new images, and maybe hopefully have time to sew one or two of the many things I have on my list of things to do. If the jedi will it, of course.

 

The trio will be a duo for the next week

The trio will be a duo for the next week

What I’ll miss the most is no doubt adult, intelligent conversation and soft lips. What I won’t miss at all is the oddly timed snoring that always occurs as I finally get back to bed after spending the last x amount of time on Anakin’s floor trying to get him back to sleep.

Giddy up, right? Wish me luck!

And thanks for all the visits!

Leave a Reply

