Baby Mexican – black bean burrito and roast vegetable salsa

I love mexican food. I mean it, seriously, I LOVE it! It is by far my favourite food. I don’t mind the real hearty authentic stuff, that’s good too, but I still have a preference for some fresh baja type mexican.

Because it’s food I have a passion for I’ve been meaning to introduce Anakin to more of it. We tried a mexican style black bean, coriander and vegetable lasagna which went down a treat so I figured it was about time he got some burrito in him. Success? Absolutely!!

I went the extra mile and made him my current favourite salsa in a baby version. (Which is basically the same as my version just minus the chilli and the salt.) Recipes? Ok. (Alright, so I took a couple of photos of this, but I can’t find them anywhere. Sorry.)

I don’t really operate with measurements when I cook this stuff. It used to annoy me when I asked my mother for recipes that she couldn’t be more exact, but now that I cook for myself I totally understand what she’s on about. So just bare with me, ok?

You’ll want to make the salsa in advance. These flavours like to have a good foreplay before they get down and juicy, if you know what I mean.

Roast vegetable salsa:

Tomatoes, halved

Green capsicum, halved

Garlic

A whole chilli

Red onion

Coriander

Lime

Rock salt

Pepper

Set your oven to 180-200 degrees celsius. Get an oven tray and give it a tiny coat of olive oil. Halve your tomatoes and cut out the little green bit on top. Set on the tray cut side down. For this I used about 5 tomatoes because I made an adult version and a baby version. You’re better off making more than less because believe me, this stuff is delicious. Cut your capsicum in half and get rid of the seeds. Chuck some unpeeled garlic on the tray, I used 5 small cloves. Don’t worry, it won’t be garlicy. Put a whole chilli on as well and set it all in the oven until it all goes a bit wrinkly and soft.

Once it’s all nice and soft get it all out. If you’re making a baby salsa get a separate bowl out for that and make everything separate. Peel your garlic and smash it with a fork. I used two small garlic cloves for my baby salsa. (for the adult version this is where I add a good pinch of rock salt.) Get your tomatoes and chop them or smash them with whatever method you prefer. I’ve started just using my kitchen scissors because I like it a bit chunky, just to cut it a bit finer after giving everything a rough chop on the chopping board. Add tomatoes to the garlic and stir. Baby version 1,5-2 tomatoes deepening on size, adult rest. Chop your capsicum and add that too. baby version 1/4 of the capsicum, adult rest. Chop the onion and add a bit of that to the baby salsa and a lot to the adult salsa. The onion is the only thing that is not roasted in this and adds a nice crisp texture. Get a nice, big handful of coriander, roughly chop it and add to the mix in both bowls. (For the adult version this is when I add my chilli. Make sure you taste it first. If it’s too fiery remove the seeds, if not just chop it and add it all.) Then give it a bit of ground pepper and a good squeeze of lime. Stir and you’re done!

The most important thing with this salsa is to get a balance going between the tomatoes, chilli, lime, coriander and salt. It’s not hard, but you don’t want the chilli to dominate, too much salt, too much lime or the coriander to take over everything. It’s easy, so don’t worry.

Now onto the burrito filling. I already had some pre-cooked black beans in the freezer from last time. You can use whatever other beans you want, but I do love my black beans. If you can’t find them tinned just get some dry ones, soak them overnight and cook with a bit of salt until tender. This will usually take up to a couple of hours.

For the burritos you’ll need:

Zucchini

Mushroom

Green capsicum (or whatever colour you prefer)

onion

corn on the cob (or tinned)

Black beans

Just use vegetables in whatever quantity you need. Chop them, cut the corn off the cob and fry over medium heat for a couple of minutes. Add the black beans. I like to throw all my vegetables in at once simply because I prefer them to be crisp and not overcooked or soggy, so make sure you don’t prepare this too early. I seasoned this with some smoked paprika and some cumin. When I make this in adult version it’s spiced up a bit, and if we’re feeling lazy we just use pre-made spice mixes. Whatever floats your boat.

For these burritos I got some corn Mountain bread. I also love guacamole, but I figured I’d ease Anakin’s little taste buds into it so I skipped making it for him and just spread half a small avocado on the mountain bread. Then I added some vegetable and bean mix and a generous amount of salsa. Roll it up, cut it into smaller pieces and serve with some cucumber.

We ended up having to deconstruct the little rolls for him as it was too hard to pick up, but it was delicious nonetheless and went down a treat.

One response

  1. This sounds delicious!

    March 17, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Leave a Reply

