Free to be…

My dearest Anakin,

Someone asked me the other day what I would do if you wanted to dress up as a princess when your pappa and I get married in two years. (It will be a theme wedding.) The question stumped me, not because it was meant in any malicious way, but because I thought the answer would be obvious.

You’re thankfully far too young to realise this, but the world is sadly as full of bigots and people hateful to others who may differ from themselves as it is those who are tolerant and respectful. There are public figures who state that they won’t let homosexuals teach their children because they think that their values are somehow less, and that their personal lives will somehow effect their teaching abilities. There are master bakers who refused to bake a wedding cake because the couple were lesbian. There are people who would kill because someone does not believe in the same God as they do, there are places where a 13-year-old girl can be raped and then stoned to death for it, all in the name of religion. I could go on, but you get the picture.

My mother raised me to think for myself, to be respectful, loving and tolerant. She told me to be what I wanted to be and to stand proud. I dearly hope I pass on the same values to you. You see, the most important thing in life is to be yourself, whoever that may be. To be happy, to be fulfilled and to feel safe to express yourself. And I want you to know that I will love you unconditionally regardless of how you choose to live your life. It won’t matter to me if you’re gay, straight or partly bent to any side. You can feel free to be a carpenter, a drag queen, an astronaut, a politician or whatever else as long as you do what makes you happy. I only ask that you never mistreat or discriminate against anyone for who they are, whatever colour, gender, sexuality or religious beliefs they may have.

I am lucky to have friends who are gay, straight, drag queens, muslim, christian, astro physicists, artists, teachers, hairdressers, stay at home mums and so many other things. Although I may not agree with their religious beliefs or all their point of views, they are still my friends and I love them all dearly. The world would be a terribly boring place were we all to think and feel the same. Diversity should be celebrated! I love that we are all unique, there is only one of me, one of you and one of your pappa. It makes each and every one of us special. We all have a responsibility to do our bit to make the world a more tolerant place.

_DSC0866_web

So to answer my friend’s question, what I will do if you want to be a princess at our wedding; I will buy you the prettiest dress, a tiara and whatever your heart desires and proudly have you by my side. As long as I can help it you will never be made to feel shame for whatever you may want to be or for whoever you may discover that you are.

This I promise you.

Yours, unconditionally and forever,

Mamma.

_DSC1712_web

5 responses

  1. yourothermotherhere

    Absolutely, positively, the most beautiful post I’ve read today. You ARE a light in the world and I wish all the blessings that I possibly can for you, and all your loved ones.

    February 7, 2013 at 10:42 am

    • Thank you so much! All the very best to you and yours too! xox

      February 7, 2013 at 10:45 am

  2. Emma

    Det der er den vakreste kjærlighetserklæringen fra en mor til et barn jeg noen gang har lest. Og samtidig en nydelig hyllest av egen mor. Din sønn er heldig.
    Hilsen en som fulgte linken til bloggen din fra bloggen til Vigdis.

    February 9, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    • Hei Emma!
      Så koselig at du stikker innom! Og tusen hjertelig takk for så fine ord!! Jeg er veldig heldig som har en mamma som har et like stort hjerte som hun har hjerne, og som alltid har latt meg følge min egen vei. Hun er en dame jeg har stor respekt for, og definitivt en person jeg håper å kunne leve opp til. Jeg håper inderlig jeg klarer å gi min egen sønn alt hun har gitt meg og mere til. Klem fra oss!

      February 9, 2013 at 8:07 pm

  3. Lou

    So so lovely! That picture of your little babe, with you two groovy parents in the background is just too precious – not to mentions your heartfelt words. Love it.

    February 10, 2013 at 8:55 am

Leave a Reply

