Darth Nuggets

In my continued endeavour to make scrumptious, healthy food for my son I made him some Darth Nuggets the other day, or chicken nuggets you might call them, but that just sounds boring. Mickey D will have to wait a long time before any of that toxic garbage gets into my son. I’m not saying never ever, but definitely not yet. And what better than to make things yourself so you know exactly what goes in to that precious body.

*I should add that these were inspired by Lou over at Fridge Scrapings! I was going to post her recipe, but couldn’t open her site when I was cooking mine so I just made mine up, but they’re pretty much the same.

Without further ado, I give you Darth Nuggets (makes about 11-12 toddler sized nuggets):

nuggets_web

1/2 chicken breast fillet (you could easily use chicken mince, but I was already cooking tandoori chicken so I had fillet.)

1/2 yellow onion

2 garlic cloves (mine were small)

A small piece of pumpkin

A small piece of cauliflower (You can use whatever vegetables you want. You don’t need to make this with vegetables, but it’s very yummy. I’m lucky, Anakin loves vegetables, but if your kid is choosy in that department, this may be a good way to get some in there. I imagine broccoli would be excellent in these too.

A bit of dill (dried, fresh, whatever)

Some italian herbs (or whatever other spices you feel like)

Pepper

Breadcrumbs

Flour

Milk (you can also use yoghurt or egg, it’s just to get the crumbs to stick)

Chop your pumpkin into pieces and give them a quick boil to soften. Around 3 minutes should do nicely depending on the size and thickness of your chunks. Dice your onion and put in a pan to soften for a couple of minutes. At the very end add the chopped garlic. (You can skip this, but I find that the onion is still a bit sharp in flavour for my kid unless I soften it.) Transfer to food processor. Cut your chicken into rough pieces and put in the food processor with the onions. Drain the pumpkin and add that too. Roughly chop your cauliflower and put that in as well. Then add your spices. Blend until nice and mooshy. Feel free to add salt if you wish.  I tend not to use much salt, if any at all, when cooking for my 1-year-old.

Get your crumbing station ready. I made my own breadcrumbs by toasting some wholemeal bread and giving it a good whiz in the food processor, but you can use store-bought if you wish. (I made my crumbs before I started with the chicken.) Then put some flour on a plate and some milk in a small bowl.

This is when it gets dirty. Get some of your chicken mixture and shape into a small nugget. Coat in flour, give it a quick dunk in the milk (this is so that the crumbs will stay on better), then cover in breadcrumbs and reshape. Repeat until you run out of chicken mixture. Put the nuggets the fridge to set for at least 10-15 minutes. Then cook them in a pan with some good oil for about 2-3 minutes per side until golden and cooked through. Make sure you don’t overcrowd your pan, I cooked mine in batches of 4.

nuggets2_web

I served mine with some parboiled, then roasted sweet potato, corn and cucumber. (I parboiled to save some time, but it really isn’t necessary.) Freeze the leftovers.

nuggets3_web

Definitely a hit with my little Vader.

Still too young for braaaaains

Healthy, happy and fed baby zombie

One response

  1. I could eat that too! Yum!

    February 6, 2013 at 7:55 am

Leave a Reply

