Stubborn

I’m fairly sure that if you asked people who know me if I am stubborn the answer would be a loud and clear yes. I come from a family of stubborn people. It’s not necessarily a good or a bad thing, it just is what it is. I am headstrong, but not unreasonable. I guess you could say I know when to hold’em and when to fold’em.

_DSC1175_web

So it is no surprise that my son is also a stubborn young man. Last night we went head to head at bedtime to see who would cave first.

Since this last (and very long) period of things in his life that has made him need more tender love and care at night, we’ve developed some rather unsustainable habits in the long run. Because we are all about no cry- solutions, we choose to take a very gentle and gradual approach to changing such habits. (Read: no controlled crying. There are the occasional tears of course. It is unavoidable in the world of babies.) After all, we helped create them.

It was a quiet battle, but a battle of sorts nonetheless. After an hour I won.

_DSC2581_web

Next time I might not be so lucky.

(If you’re looking for some research on no cry-sleep solutions I can highly recommend Elizabeth Pantley’s books.)

Leave a Reply

