Separation anxiety and the nighttime madness

Ever since my night out our nights have become… hell. Pure, utter hell. I would rather go back to three overnight feeds than have to deal with separation anxiety.

It all seems to have coincided with another wonder week period. All of the sudden my angel has become impossible to put to bed and impossible to get back to sleep when he wakes up during the night. And he always wakes up during the night, at least once, perhaps even twice or three times.

My record for the shortest time spent holding him or holding his hand through the cot bars before he went back to sleep is 40 minutes. My record for longest time spent doing the same is just over 2 hours. And for 14 nights straight I have endured as best I can. Cue a case of slight madness setting in and absolutely no work done on my postgrad.

Feeding him no longer has any impact. Leaving him until he falls asleep is not an option as there is an insane amount of crying involved as soon as he’s out of my arms. I’m lucky if I can convince him to stay in the cot while I lie next to it with my hands through the bars. (And as I’ve written about before, we do not and will not use the method of “controlled crying”.) Co-sleeping has never looked so attractive, but alas Anakin will not have a bar of that either.

It finally looked as if it was starting to settle and then… 35 and 40 degree days, and similar nights, hit.

I know, babies are unpredictable. They continuously change. As soon as you think you’ve figured them out something different happens. But who are these freak babies I keep hearing about that just sleep through teeth, wonder weeks and everything else their young lives throw at them? They must exist, unless  of course there is a horde of lying parents floating around? Next time, I’m ordering one of those babies. A sleeper. You can order them in advance, right? Prepay for certain qualities in your unborn child?

Did your kid ever suffer from nighttime separation anxiety? And if so, how did you overcome it?

IMG_1886

6 responses

  1. Oh, my. NOT fun!!!
    I hope it passes, soon…

    January 5, 2013 at 7:34 am

  2. So sorry. When the girls decide not to put themselves back to sleep, I douse their gums with oral gel, that only works 30% of the time. That sounds miserable.

    January 5, 2013 at 2:37 pm

    • I can’t even imagine how you manage with two! Have you ever done any so called sleep training with your girls or are they natural sleepers? I am in awe of mums of twins!

      January 6, 2013 at 10:32 am

      • My girls are not natural sleepers, It was a battle! So we did sleep training. They started sleeping 11 hrs at 6 months old. It was hard because we were dealing with GERD (acid reflux) and needed to learn the difference between a pain cry, and an “I want mommy” cry. We also had to wean them from their 4 am feeding. Once assured they were ok, not hurting, clean diapers, we put them to bed and set a timer for 10 mins, and let them cry it out. At the end of 10 mins, we’d check them to make sure they were ok. Now at 13 months, they sleep 12 hrs. I understand your reluctance to sleep training, it’s hard to hear our little ones cry. Now Ava asks to get in her crib, and they will play by themselves for 20 mins or so before settling down. Every night is not perfect. We have nights of fussiness, and we’re back to the timer. That works for us. Every family’s rhythm is different. 🙂 Keep enduring, you are a great mommy and you can get through it. You’ll find your family’s rhythm. 🙂

        January 12, 2013 at 4:08 am

  3. I got lucky, mine’s one of the freak babies that sleeps. She’s never had more than one feral sleepless night in a row. I’m sure the next one will be horrible just to make up for her being so good. Hopefully you get some sleep soon 😊

    January 5, 2013 at 3:50 pm

    • Wow, you’re lucky! I am definitely a tad envious. 🙂 We had a pretty decent night last night, but at this point I’m too weary to get my hopes up too soon. Thankfully he’s easy in most other things. Perhaps he never got the memo that mum’s need sleep too! 🙂

      January 6, 2013 at 10:30 am

Leave a Reply

