Night out

Last night I went out… to a bar… and had drinks with a friend. I know, about time, right? It’s only been… uhm… (tries to remember when that happened last, but fails miserably) I don’t know. It’s been a long, long time, well over a year and a half and probably then some. It was wonderful. I splurged and allowed myself three glasses of wine. I stayed out later than I thought I would, and I had a nice walk in the rain on my way home. I felt happy, I was invigorated, life was smiling. I kept thinking to myself “Why haven’t I done this sooner? I should do this more.”

But of course Anakin could smell the fact that his mother had not been home last night ready to jump every time he might need me to. So after sleeping soundly all night and two whole nights before he decides to wake up at 4 and stay awake, and needy, until 6 this morning. No amounts of rocking, cuddling, feeding or anything would put him back to sleep until he got so tired he momentarily lost the plot. (Right around the time I was about to loose mine.) Just because mummy goes out doesn’t mean she’s not on the night shift when she comes home. Unfortunately.

Today we’ve been an out of sync unit of a very tired mummy and a very cranky baby. Little mister Mayhem. One very short nap and lots of screaming. It’s been one of those days, I’m glad it’s over and can only hope tonight sings a different tune.

Tonight my partner is the one having a night out. I half joked about how he should take the night shift when he comes home for once. Not sure he thought the joke was very funny or the idea very appealing.

IMG_1886

At least I got a night out, right?

 

2 responses

  1. I think it’s worth it. Yes, you’ll have to wake up during the night, you might have to deal with a cranky baby – but that’s all “tomorrow”. “Today” you can enjoy a night out – a well deserved one, too!

    You’ll catch up on sleep 🙂

    December 21, 2012 at 3:12 am

    • So very true! I think we just had a particularly bad one yesterday. But it was so wort it to go out and have a good time.

      December 21, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Leave a Reply

