In sickness and in health

..in sickness and in health, until death do us part. Definitely applies to parenting.

There’s been more sickness than health in our house lately. First it was Anakin’s many rounds with various colds and viruses, and last week it was me. Being sick is far worse now than it used to be when I could actually take the time to be sick. Spend a day on the sofa, sleep, eat soup, watch bad tv and nurse myself. As a mum you just do everything you normally do, but you do it while you’re sick and feel like death itself. Not a very pleasant state of being.

This week it seems like we’re all on the up and up. Anakin has sprouted his second front tooth and given us two blissful nights of sleep, and even thrown in a bit of a sleep-in in the morning. It won’t last, but I’ll take whatever I can get when I can get it.

I’m still frantically working on finishing our costumes for a theme wedding we’re attending, and as much as I hate to admit it, we have still yet to go get Anakin his birthday present for Sunday. Sunday is the big day when the little man turns 1. I’m not even sure how that happened so fast. It doesn’t seem so long ago I spent every day just holding him and watching him sleep. I can feel myself getting all mooshy about it already.

Two weeks after resuming my postgrad I have read about 20 pages all up. Most people would do that in less than an hour. It is becoming clear to me that I am trying to do what other people spend 7 days a week doing in about half a day broken into tiny bits here and there. To say that I am feeling the impending doom would be a grand understatement.

Our house is nowhere near ready for christmas. I have done no baking, no cleaning, no shopping, I have done absolutely none of the things I told myself I would do.

I still have three posts in draft that will probably die there og get rewritten.

Is anyone else running around like a headless chicken this time of year? Are any of you excellent organisers with some lifesaving tips on how to free up more time while not neglecting anything important?

_DSC0763_editweb

Anyways…

Merry christmas and happy new years!

xx Dida

4 responses

  1. We hired someone to clean the house… total bliss. It’s pricey, but it is so worth it. Especially since I am sick, too – and for the past two days was barely interested in doing anything at all. In fact, we spent half of yesterday watching christmas movies. I put a mask on a Timothy cuddled with me on the couch. He seemed to like it 🙂

    December 19, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    • I’m afraid we’ll have to the cleaning ourselves. It’ll get done, sooner or later.I wish we could afford to get someone to do it!
      I am very strict with not letting Anakin watch tv, so when I was sick we spent a lot of time in his playpen. I would lie down as much as I could and he would play around or on top of me. Anakin loves to read books so he’s fairly easy to do quiet activities with.

      I hope you’re feeling better! 🙂

      December 20, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      • I am not very strict. I let him watch a 20-minute episode of baby einstein once in about 3 days – when I need to cook. Other than that the TV is off most of the time. We rarely watch it ourselves, too – we don’t even have cable. But being sick I needed it… that and some xmas mood setting movies 🙂

        December 20, 2012 at 2:27 pm

  2. Midwifery Group at Swedish

    Reblogged this on Midwifery Group at Swedish and commented:
    My new favorite blog! Follow the Adventures in Jedi ~ Princess NeverSleeps, Baby StormPooper and Captain (Leg of) Ham Solo

    December 21, 2012 at 3:08 am

Leave a Reply

