Bite me!

I can’t believe it’s Friday again and I have yet to finish either of the three posts I have in draft. It seems I can hardly keep my eyes open these days let alone finish anything.

Remember how I used to complain about never getting any sleep? And then I stopped complaining for a while? Well, for a short time there I was in sleep heaven. Or as close to it as I can imagine getting while caring for the young and restless. Anakin slept through the night several times, and at worst he would wake up once. Ah… those were the days.

_DSC0256_beh_web

Then we hit this massive patch of colds and teeth. And more teeth. And more colds. And nights went back to being what they used to be, torturous and sleepless. The only light at the end of this tunnel seems to be that at least one of the front teeth cut through yesterday and the last bit of the last cold seems to be fading. These upper teeth are killers. I haven’t had to deal with this amount of screaming from discomfort at night before. The other night i spent a good hour holding Anakin to get him back to sleep only to have him wake up with a scream every time he dozed off. I know he can’t help it, but it’s rough when every effort to help fails miserably.

So our days are as off as our nights. He’s cranky, I’m cranky, and frankly, these teeth can bite me. Figuratively speaking of course. There’s enough of the proper biting already. Damn those small pearly whites are sharp!

The other reason that has kept me from sitting down to share things is far better. One of my best friends has come to visit from Norway and I have been busy taking as much of him in as I can. 3.5 years of not seeing each other is a long time and we have much to catch up on.

In short, that’s what’s been happening in our world as of late. Here’s to hoping things will pick up soon and I can find the time to tell you about all the other exciting things we have in the works, like making animal costumes for a dress up wedding, deciding Anakin’s birthday “cake” (think edible sculpture), our alternative christmas tree (also edible) and much, much more.

_DSC0841_beh_web

Happy Friday! May your weekend be full of restful sleeps and bright, sunny (but not too warm) days. Until next time!

xx Dida

3 responses

  1. You can submit for the weekly theme “Parenting”
    .
    If selected, it could get published in BBOOKS weekly ezine.

    Find more details on the submit page of my blog.

    December 7, 2012 at 4:06 pm

  2. Teething must be hard for the both of you. When did it start with the sleepless nights?
    I’ve got all this to come very soon. My little guy has been sleeping through the night for the last 4 weeks. It’s like a ticking time bomb waiting for the sleepless nights to come back.
    How does your husband cope with the nights?
    I’m guessing your the SAHM who can nap from time to time.

    December 8, 2012 at 5:28 am

    • We only had a short spurt of sleeping through. The sleepless nights came back around two weeks ago, getting progressively worse every night up to what I hope was the peak last night with 2,5 hours of awake and screaming baby. My son has never been a great sleeper, neither for naps or nights. The first teeth weren’t as bad, but these last ones are killers.

      My partner works so I have always done nights on my own. The only thing that helps me get some sleep is that he takes him after his morning feed and looks after him until he has to go to work which usually gives me a couple of hours sleep.

      I am a SAHM, but I am also a full time post graduate research student so unfortunately there is no time to nap. My son takes only two very short naps anyway, so there is just no time to cram it all in there.

      It will get better soon no doubt. I hope your son is one of those babies that breeze through teething. I hear rumours they exist.

      December 8, 2012 at 10:22 am

Leave a Reply

