To Santa or not to Santa

Christmas is almost here. Every year it kind of takes me by surprise. Although I have lived in Australia for many years now, christmas still equals snow. This has nothing to do with the fact that I really, truly do not like winter and everything to do with how I know christmas is coming. Here I just forget, despite being bombarded with christmas stuff everywhere, because it’s warm and beautifully sunny.

Anyways, I digress from my topic. Santa Claus, or julenissen as we norse refer to him as. Now that we have Anakin in our lives there are a few things we’ll have to consider in regards to what we want to pass on. We’re not religious people whatsoever so to us christmas is simply a holiday, an excuse to eat excessive amounts of good food, drink wine and spend time with people we love. I don’t want to offend people with religious beliefs, so let’s just leave it at that for now.

But what about Santa? This year it won’t make much of a difference what we say, but sooner or later we’re going to have to decide if we want to pass on the whole idea of Santa Claus. We don’t have to bother about the easter bunny because it’s just never played a part in Norwegian upbringing so I see no reason for us to go there. Tooth fairy? Sure. But what about this fat man with a white beard that brings presents?  I certainly oppose the idea of the lists of good and bad children Santa supposedly has, but we can easily leave that part out. I do not want my son to think that he will be punished for whatever “bad” things he does by anyone other than his parents, and that his actions will hang over his head until christmas rolls around again. As if christmas is some sort of yearly time of judgement and Santa is judge and jury. No, thank you. But a mysterious jolly fat man who brings presents in the night? Perhaps.

Even Santa can’t resist this face

A part of me thinks Santa is one of those things that should come with being a kid, he’s a part of that wonderful world of make-believe. It doesn’t matter that it’s not true, Anakin will figure that out sooner or later just like every other kid does. And I want him to have as much magic in his childhood as possible. So perhaps this includes us talking about Santa, maybe leaving some porridge out for him or a cookie or two. Whether we’ll go as far as having Santa come visit is a decision for another time. And perhaps it is as much a question of what we want christmas to be for all of us, as what we want it to be for him. I’m a big kid at heart and though I may not want to sit on Santa’s lap, I would still be up for giving the old man a good squeeze.

And to finish off, here’s a random thought I’ve had hanging around in my mind for a few years:

If Santa had a bath with all his clothes on, do you think his beard would go pink?

6 responses

  1. Mette Haugland

    Her i Norge var Nissen et begrep før kristendommen kom, fjøsnissen var i alle fjøs, han tok vare på dyra og mennenskene skulle stelle pent med ham. Gi ham grøt o.l. Boka di om nissene forteller jo også om dem – Santa Claus kom mye senere, og jeg synes fjøsnissen er mye kosligere. I barnehagen bor Nisse-Nils på loftet og gjør litt rampestreker med barna – han er litt snill også og kommer med gaver innimellom. Glad i deg, jenta mi. Lov mum

    November 16, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    • Det er sant! Vet ikke helt hvorfor jeg glemte den boka. Takk takk! Det er det som er så godt med mammaer, de minner en på gode ting man har glemt! Det blir nok mer en fjøsnisse, eller gnom, som vi kommer til å ta sikte på.
      Masse glad i deg også, mamman min! Kyss!

      November 17, 2012 at 5:24 pm

  2. I don’t think our kids even realize that some Santas have Good or Bad Kids.
    He’s just a part of our tradition I suppose.

    We have julenisse come “live” on x-mas eve with only one present. Thought Mette (your mum I just realized — ahhhh — like our mum also commenting on our blog!) commented julenissen might be kinder than Santa, to me he’s a bit bad tempered too… I guess this is brought on by the awful mask we have as part of the julenisse ensemble and the song “på Låven sitter nissen” when he is a bit of a grumpy old fart) and then we prepare the arrival of Santa (complete different guy) before they go to bed (early!) on the 24th… and then kid magic happens again the next day.

    We are lucky we can pick and choose the best of both worlds don’t you think? Norwegian/ British traditions combined are amazing 😉 (not biased at all…)

    /Louisa

    November 17, 2012 at 12:32 am

    • Absolutely! I remember julenissen coming to visit wearing one of those masks when I was little. Scared the bejesus out of me because I knew he wasn’t julenissen, but my mum had gotten someone outside the family to come so I couldn’t figure out who it was. We’ve always done all the presents on the 24th. It’ll be present bonanza for Anakin because his birthday is on the 23rd.

      I think it’s fantastic to get to create our own christmas traditions. I lost interest in christmas for a while, but now I have every reason to look forward to it. The best part is that our christmas comes with sunshine and blue skies instead of winter and below freezing. I do love my summers (although last year the heat made our gingerbread house collapse).

      November 17, 2012 at 5:31 pm

  3. Haha, love your random thought 🙂 I hope his teeth won’t stain!

    Hmmm. I actually was thinking of writing a post on the same topic – we are also debating what and how we should celebrate. We aren’t religious either, but I see holidays as family-uniting traditions – and I embrace this idea. I think Santa is a good tradition (and I agree on leaving the bad boy/good boy thing out).

    November 17, 2012 at 2:48 am

    • I am all for creating a family traditions. I am very excited about everything that comes with it, and I think it will get even better for every year as our kids will be able to participate in more and more things. I look forward to passing on the tradition of making christmas candy (and eating most of it while you do). That was one of the highlights back home. And the one present we got to open in the morning in the 24th, it was sort of a bribe to get us to hold on until after dinner for the rest.

      November 17, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Leave a Reply

