Monday blues

I’ve never been a fan of Mondays. I’m not one of those “new week, new opportunities” kind of people. I never have been. I’m more of the type that gets up on a Monday morning only to step in cat vomit or, like today, be sprayed in baby snot. Mondays hate me as much as I hate them. It’s a mutual kind of thing.

But back to the baby snot party. (If you were hoping I wouldn’t go there, I’m sorry.) Anakin was sick for about a week and then got a lot better. I say a lot because everything improved. He slept through the night for the first time and he was just simply ruling at life as a little guy of 10 months. Life, however, thought this was too good to keep up. Life likes to be challenging, it’s what it does. It wants you to grow. So what does life do? It throws some more bugs in Anakin’s face making young Anakin sick again. This time the face-full-of-snot kind of sick as opposed to the cough-out-a-lung kind of sick he just had. (Or… the culprit could possibly be that third tooth trying to rear its pearly head. Who knows.) And what does the weather do? It gets real stinking hot again. So out goes the good sleeps and in comes the sweaty, miniature human snot machine, and this time he’s found the spray function. Enter snot covered sleepy mummy on a Monday morning. Actually, let’s just make that snot covered mummy all Monday.

Human snot machine. Cute, but sticky.

I think life and babies are in cahoots on some of their cruel jokes. Every time I think I’ve worked it out and that I’m ruling at being a mum in every possible way, nighttime, naps, feeds, routines and whatnot, they whammy me right in the sucker. How dare I get too cocky, right? I really wish they’d give it a break though. Only a few weeks out from starting my research Master again and I’ve got my whole hand on the panic button. The mere thought of juggling that and full-time mothering is enough the threaten a panic attack. Oh, and did I mention that I’m applying to upgrade to a PhD due to the mere size of my project? I can feel my knees shaking already. Thankfully my brain is still so lost in baby space it can’t fully grasp the abyss it’s facing.

I hope you all had a good weekend. Mine definitely had its excellent moments. Here’s to hoping the week picks up from its dreary Monday face.

Now please excuse me, I have to put my snot machine to bed and bake some spelt bread. Until next time.

2 responses

  1. Ahh, we’re battling the same things here… Timothy has been a snot machine for a few days now. Most fun is when he sneezes all over me during mealtime. Because covering me in snot obviously wasn’t enough…
    Hope little Anakin gets better (or forces that stubborn tooth through!)

    November 6, 2012 at 1:22 am

    • Oh yes, the food spray is classic! Anakin did it with his dessert the other day which were berries and it looked like a blood bath. It gave me a good laugh. I hope your Timothy recovers soon too! There’s nothing worse than a sick baby.

      November 6, 2012 at 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

