This too shall pass…

This too shall pass… I hate that phrase right about now. I want to punch This too shall pass in the face, throw it to the ground and stomp on it repeatedly until it begs for mercy.

I’m not an idiot, I know that This too shall pass. But that doesn’t make Right now any easier or bearable, so please, just don’t go there.

I jinxed the great sleeps. Remind me to just shut up when good things happen because obviously karma has it in for me and wants to kick my butt. Since Monday our nights have gone to… well, for a lack of a better word, they’ve gone to shits. We’ve hit a new growth spurt. Hooray. For the first time I have a clingy baby who just doesn’t want me to put him down unless I stay right there with him. He whinges, he cries, he sometimes screams bloody murder. I’ve had to put him in the Baby Bjørn to make my lunch, I’ve resorted to fancy trickery to manage to have a shower. I sing, I dance, I bounce and I silently scream THIS TOO SHALL PASS, THIS TOO SHALL PASS until my face turns blue. At night I simply just hang on until morning knowing that everything will appear better in daylight while Anakin does his own reenactments of The Exorcist, or some sort of possessed baby breakdance, in his cot in-between short spurts of crying, eating and sleeping.

Oh Great Anakin, ruler of my world, please show mercy for me, your poor mother. Forgive me for being so foolish as to think that I had conquered the night, that I once again could return to the land of those who feel human and sometimes even rested.

Please, please, please… JUST GO THE F**K TO SLEEP!

 

2 responses

  1. Yeah, I kind of wish newborns automatically turned into preschoolers within a week. The sweet baby smell and goo-goo eyes are charming and all, but the non-stop pooping, screaming, and crying wear you out after the first couple of hours. But then they turn into teenagers and the nonstop screaming and crying are supplemented by nonstop requests for money and more food. At least the nonstop pooping does end.

    I mean, this too shall pass.

    October 24, 2012 at 11:49 am

  2. haha.. at least teenagers sleep a lot, right? I’ll admit I do love the whole baby phase. Most of the time. It does seem though that whenever I think I’ve figured it all out, I’m hit by a new curveball. It’s the privilege of a baby to mess with its parents, or so it would seem.

    And as long as it doesn’t hit me like a spray tan, I don’t really mind the pooping.

    October 24, 2012 at 12:13 pm

Leave a Reply

