Distractions and the Big Sleep

I’ve been a bit distracted lately. Nap times have become even more chaotic. Not because of wee man, but because I have been throwing too many balls into the air and naively tried to catch them all. My newest distraction is sewing some summer clothes for Anakin. Don’t mistake me for one of those sewing geniuses, I’m far from one, but I have a knack for figuring things out and then somehow getting it done (sooner or later). The only problem is that when I get it in my head that I’d like to try something, for example to sew a vest or a romper, or whatever it may be, I simply can’t stop thinking about it. My brain keeps working, deconstructing, reconstructing, until I’ve worked out a way to do it. It’s both a blessing and a curse. A curse because I will wake up at night thinking about bias tape and not be able to go back to sleep, a blessing because I do this with everything I’m passionate about and sometimes it leads to great eureka moments. Like a few weeks ago when just before I was about to fall asleep I suddenly realised how to solve a big problem I’ve been struggling with for one of my new artworks for months.

Suspenders and a tie. Got to love the nerd look.

But recently it’s been about sewing. And I was pretty stoked when I tried sewing a lined vest for Anakin and it not only looked great, but fit on the first try. (I don’t have a good photo of that yet. It was covered in his lunch pretty fast. But I’ll get one as soon as I clean it.) My problem is just having time to sit down and do it. And when I don’t I get somewhat edgy. My brain needs to release what it’s been working on to move on. So, that’s my excuse for not blogging much of late.

I threw this together in about 20 minutes. Lots of room for improvement, but still pretty darn cute.

The screen printed pants I mentioned a while ago. I do love to add a bit of edge to the cuteness of babies. Matched with the onsie above it’s the perfect outfit for warmer days. 

Now, to the Big Sleep! Yes! We’ve had big sleeps! Since following our initial 10 day plan things have just kept getting better. Even with sprouting a tooth, and another one on the way, and learning to crawl, the sleeps keep improving. Sure, we have a few nights where there is more waking than usual, but for the most part nights have been pure bliss. Our two wake ups, one feed have even become one wake up, one feed on some nights. Last night Anakin slept from 7pm until 4.30am before waking. The night before he slept from 7 until 2.30. And not only does he stay asleep for longer, but the falling asleep is so much easier. He usually just konks out on his own hugging his frog and sucking his dummy. My brain is actually starting to feel like it’s recovering from this 9.5 month bender. I’m so happy I’m giddy. What really needs improving now is my own ability to fall asleep and stay asleep. I keep waking up worried something’s happened because he’s sleeping so well. It’s moronic, I know, but I can’t stop my mummy brain from worrying until I get used to the new and improved way. Speaking of mummy brain, I have to share this epic fail moment that happened over the weekend.

It was Saturday night and I was pretty tired. Steinar had just poured us a glass of wine and I’d gotten a bag of chocolates out that my mum sent from Norway. It was one of those bags with different pieces of chocolates in it labelled “favourite bites”. I reached for the bottle of sparkling mineral water to refill my glass while thinking about how they choose which kinds of chocolates that go in this so called favourite collection. As I start pouring the sparkling water into my glass I realise that I’m pouring it into my red wine and not the empty glass sitting next to it. Epic Fail Moment. I don’t mind a bit of sparkling Shiraz, but not when it’s homemade like this. It was good for a laugh though. Have you had any epic mummy (or daddy) brain fail moments?

Oh yes, as I mentioned, Anakin has figured out how to crawl. It’s more of a commando slither, but he gets around. And our house is far from baby proof, that’s for sure. I’m trying without luck to grow eyes in the back of my head, but I may just have to succumb to having to do a big clean up. I’d hate for him to get hurt and I’d hate for some our things to fall into those little grabby fingers (and slobbery mouth).

So that’s what’s been happening in our world. I’ve got tons of images to edit and post so I’ll hopefully get onto that as well soon.

4 responses

  1. The outfits look awesome! Too bad the sparkling Shiraz didn’t work out 🙂

    October 15, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    • Dida Sundet

      Thank you! What an absolute brain fart! I’ve been having more than a few of those, I must admit. Maybe it was just an excuse to open another bottle of wine… 😀

      October 15, 2012 at 6:14 pm

  2. He’s a cutie! Love your photography. I hope to learn more about my camera so I can take pictures of my kids like you. Thanks for sharing!

    October 16, 2012 at 2:37 am

    • Thank you! Baby photography is so far from the photography I usually do, but I love taking photos of Anakin. I hope you spend some with your camera and work it out. Practice makes perfect!

      October 16, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Leave a Reply

