I do! I DO!!

I’ve been sober for 18 months, but today I have a hangover. No, I didn’t fall off my mummy wagon. It’s a different kind of hangover. Let me just walk you through yesterday as best I can. I won’t be able to do it justice, but I’ll do my best. And please feel free to pinch me along the way to remind me that it did indeed happen.

Remember how mummy-me was in for a bit of a surprise? Well, they weren’t kidding! Yesterday started like any other day. Baby wakes, baby feeds, daddy takes over, mummy goes back to bed for a bit, baby wakes, baby feeds and we go through the usual motions until it’s time for me to make myself pretty. I do my best to follow the brief, but as usual the one thing that just doesn’t work for me is this damn nest I have sitting on top of my head that I’ve wanted to do something with for a long time. I squish it into two clips like I always do and go back to my mummy business for a bit to put baby to bed. I’m ok with the idea of leaving Anakin for a few hours. The initial mummy brain freak out is over and I’m feeling good. I’ve had to admit to myself that I may be a slight control freak. Just an itty bitty one.

At 12 (pretty sharp to my recollection) there’s a knock on the door. As I get up to answer I feel the jitters of small butterflies, they’re nervous and they’re excited. Upon opening I’m greeted by to of my very lovely girlfriends who I adore, miss Julia and miss Jess. (One of which I had a fairly strong idea was the instigator behind all this.) It’s looking promising already. We say a quick goodbye, I empty my bag of baby related things like spew rags and toys, and we’re off. I still have no clue as to what’s up. Julia gives directions from the backseat and we park on high street and walk up a bit. Then Julia takes a sharp left into Punch hair salon. Oh! I’m getting my hair done! This is excellent!

Before I continue let me just let you in on a couple of secrets. I am scared of hairdressers. And when surprised I get easily stumped and somewhat speechless…and maybe a tiny bit awkward in my attempts to show my gratitude. Anyways, the ladies whisk off to get us some coffees while I sit down and try to make some sense of what I need done to make my nest less of a nest and more of a do. The lady who cuts my hair does an excellent job and I do my best to figure out where to look to avoid staring at myself in the mirror while making small talk. The hairdresser and I agree that I have some excellent friends. When we’re done I do what I never ever do, I leave my hair down. Yes, I looked that good! (I wish I had a photo to prove it, but I don’t.) Then we’re off again. I figure we’ll hang out for a bit and I’ll head home, but no, we’re not done yet. As we’re walking I’m telling my ladies about how I was going to get my hair done last weekend, but Steinar made me wait by telling me that he wanted to do something nice for me and not until we stop at The Sweet Life tattoo shop do I compute the next thing. It’s funny, because I had intended to go to that very place that day to get my new tattoo done, but since I didn’t know if there would be time I had made plans with Steinar to do it next Saturday. The ladies make arrangements for me to book in and they put a deposit down for my new piece. Julia tells me how my friends have been so generous that she was able to add this on last minute. I’m speechless. Stumped. And overwhelmed. But we’re not done yet.

Miss Jess and Luke. I hadn’t seen Luke since Anakin was 6 weeks old! I wish I had taken more photos yesterday, but a few iPhone snaps will have to do.

“Let’s go have some lunch!” Excellent idea! We head into Northcote Social Club (a pub). When we get out back it takes me a while to see that there’s a table waiting full of people I haven’t seen in ages. (I wish I could explain how all this made me feel. To give you an idea let me just admit to you that I’m having my third happy cry writing about it.) There’s not much that could make this day any better! I’m handed a beer, I’m getting some good hugs and then my two boys show up. I wasn’t stressed about not seeing them for a few hours, but I’m pretty sure my face lit up when they came.

Some very fine ladies! Miss Julia, Japes and Victoria. Japes just got back from the Netherlands. Last time I saw her I had a bump. I’m not even sure when the last time I saw Victoria was, but it’s been too long.

These two are very good friends.

There’s good food, more people, sunshine and very good times. (Oh and a nosebleed for me courtesy of my darling son.) I’m drunk on happy. I’m reminded of how much I love all these people, and a few that couldn’t make it, and that they are indeed my Melbourne family. I’m reminded that mummy-me is still me in every way, perhaps just better. But it’s not over yet! How could there possibly be more? Who in their right mind could even hope for more? I have quick chat to Steinar to figure out what to do about Anakin’s next feed and then we’re off again. The final step in my Dida-Surprise-day was a much needed massage by my lovely friend Zoe.

Luke doing a good Luke face. Babies make Luke nervous. He’s not a fan, but we’re a fan of Luke.

Lee, Nick and (almost brand new) Callum. A very excellent new family.

I make it home in time to give Anakin his night feed and put him to bed. He goes down without as much as a peep. I have a happy cry. I have another happy cry. I get to eat Mexican for dinner.

There’s no way my description of this do what they did for me justice. It wasn’t my birthday, there was no reason for anyone to do anything like this. But they did. And I’m having another happy cry. I can’t begin to explain what this means to me, I can’t ever begin to thank them all so much for everything. I’m glad I wasn’t drinking because if I was I would have spent yesterday in tears all day proclaiming my undying love for everyone. I would much rather spend it sober and happy with the biggest smile on my face, and spend today with some happy tears proclaiming my undying love and eternal gratitude to everyone. Still feeling completely overwhelmed, stumped and extremely lucky.

To those of you who couldn’t make it, to those of you who could, and to everyone who made yesterday happen and the very best day: THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! I will never ever forget it! Although my relatives may be far away I’ve got family right here. And if Melbourne ever asks me to marry it you can bet I’ll say I Do!!

As for mummy-me, she loves surprises!

2 responses

  1. What a lovely surprise!!! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing with us all – I think even I got a little excited when I read your previous post πŸ˜‰ Glad it was worth waiting for, and that Mummy you does indeed like surprises…sure there are a lot more to come in the future πŸ™‚

    September 16, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    • It was amazing! I am a very lucky lady! πŸ˜€ I think this was far better than any surprise birthday party. Nice things done without any particular occasion (birthday, christmas etc) mean far more. And mummy-me needed to learn that it is ok to leave baby. πŸ˜‰

      September 17, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Leave a Reply

