Where did the weekend go?

I’ve always had a troublesome relationship to Sundays. It’s the end of the weekend and frankly, it’s a bit depressing. When I worked I used to spend Sundays rolled into a ball on the couch desperate to milk every minute of it, just dreading bedtime and the horror that was Monday morning and work. (Yes, I hated my job. Intensely.) Now most days are a blur and it matters less because Monday will start exactly the same way Sunday did, except my partner goes back to work and I… well, I’ll still be doing the same thing I always do.

I’m pretty proud of myself for not missing one day of my 365 project yet. But I’m noticing that it’s harder to get an image I’m happy with. I should clarify that I’m not a photographer although I have a degree in art photography (keyword being art) and my work is photographic.  I rarely introduce myself to anyone as a photographer. Yes, it has happened, but in the hierarchy of what I call myself professionally photographer comes after visual artist and light painter.  I am always an image maker long before I am an image taker. I simply don’t think like one.  And those two things are different. But I digress. Anyway…

There are only so many ways I can shoot Anakin being cute before even I get horribly bored by it. The wig was fun, but I can’t keep shooting him in the same thing either, so my new challenge is not only taking a photo of him every day, but taking one that I’m happy with, one that’s different to the others. I realise that I won’t be able to do that all the time. Some days I just don’t have the time, nor the energy, to figure something out. It’s challenging because it is so removed from the kind of work I make.  I haven’t done today’s image yet, but hopefully inspiration will hit me in the face at some point.

At least it’s still Sunday.

Leave a Reply

