Sleep regression and Captain Ridiculous

Remember how I said we were in putting baby to bed heaven for a long time? Well, a couple of weeks ago that changed overnight.

Anakin is one of those babies that makes good progress in something, then takes three big steps backwards for a while. Maybe all babies are like that, I don’t know. Anyway, after we came back from our Sydney adventure I had three blissful nights of only having to feed him once. I thought I was in heaven for a bit, and I even started to feel human again. Getting more than 2 hours of sleep in a go makes a huge difference. Then all of a sudden… WHAM! Come bedtime he simply refused to sleep. It would take us up to 2,5 hours to get him down. It took every trick in the book and then some. And when we finally got him to sleep he’d stay down for an hour or two before wanting his first night feed. Then a couple of days later he refused to go down for his second nap of the day, and the day after he refused every sleep. And so it went for 10 days, 10 horrible, horrible days.

One night I was so exhausted that after the battles had raged for 2 hours I got him out of bed, put him on his play mat and just laid next to him crying my eyes out. This, for some reason, made him stop and I was able to get him to sleep once I wiped my eyes and took him back upstairs.

Captain Ridiculous

Then suddenly after 10 days he was back to normal. Oh joy!! For a bit. Then Captain Ridiculous introduced himself. He’d wake up and start the day at 5.30, then 5 the next day, then 4.50. I took solace in that he at least only fed once overnight again… until a couple of days ago when he decided that two times is way better than one again.

And last night Captain Ridiculous trumped himself. He woke for a feed at  11.15, then woke again at 2. I fed him and put him back to bed assuming that he’d fall asleep again like he always does. Nah, not a chance. He played for a bit before starting his engines (a whinge that soon becomes a cry). I offered him some more food thinking he might still be hungry, but no. I put him back to bed. The same thing happened. After 20 minutes of me hiding next to his bed patting him he finally fell asleep. At 3.45. I went back to bed desperate for sleep. Then Steinar woke up sick. When I finally fell back asleep it was past 4 am. It felt like I had only just closed my eyes when Captain Ridiculous woke up again at 4.30. This time there was no hope left. Hello day! Steinar got him up while I got a bit more sleep. At 7.15 Anakin was awake after his first nap of day and ready to continue. Needless to say we were not.

Oh Captain, my Captain… I love you, but you’re driving me mad.

2 responses

  1. Victoria

    Oh no! I really feel for you! Reading this I realize how lucky I am. I am sleep deprived, yes, (and I identified with everything you said on Tuesday about not everything being glamorous or hunky dory all the time), but at least I get some decent sleep every night.

    All I can say is, hang in there – you are doing a wonderful job, being very creative and caring and Anakin is so lucky to have you. And for what it’s worth, it seems his sleep is constantly changing, so this situation will change too…. Hopefully sooner rather than later, of course.

    August 16, 2012 at 10:58 am

    • Thank you, Victoria! I am crossing my fingers every night these days. Last night wasn’t all that bad, but the night before he woke 6 times. Like you said, it’s always changing so I’m taking solace in that I know he can do better and that it may change again very soon. I am so used to being sleep deprived now that the smallest amount of extra sleep makes me feel a lot better.

      August 18, 2012 at 12:14 pm

Leave a Reply

