36/52- The simple joys

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, for the 3rd year of his life.

36_52_web

Anakin: Your smile is like sunshine, it lights up any room. It has this amazing ability to expel any shadow. Your laughter is the purest sound I know. Our most precious moments are about sharing the simple joys. Playing in the family bed while changing sheets, taking the time for a good snuggle, waking up to you stroking my face, building great, big cars and pretending that we’re tractors, horses, dogs or firemen, enjoying the feel of naked skin touching. The simple joys are the best ones. 

***

I’ve been neglecting this blog somewhat this year. I’m planning to make up for that as soon as I can. There’s no lack of words floating around my head or images on my hard drive, but there’s been a lack of time and energy, and a few other things.

I’m hanging my show this Friday and I don’t think there are any words that can explain how excited I am to see them together. I am so proud of this work, I am so incredibly proud of what I’ve made of my life the past three years. It hasn’t been easy, it hasn’t’ been without great sorrow or struggle, but it has been fruitful and it has been rewarding. And the journey is far from complete.

I can’t believe we’re at 36 already. How did we get there so fast?

Leave a comment